Lard Pie Crust (tarte au poire – Pear Rhubarb Tarte)

2013-09-24 07.13.19

Yep, I do cook with old fashioned ingredients. I find that sometimes, there just isn’t anything that makes it better. Of course, you could use butter and get pretty good results, but this crust has a tenderness, is flaky yet stays sturdy even with soggy ingredients and I have not been able to reproduce this any other way. Since the crust is so, rustic, I used my Lodge cast iron frying pan as pie pan. First because I wanted to try it and second because, well, I am lazy sometimes and it was right there, so… I think I will toss all my other pie plates as this makes, hands down the best pie ever. The crust was flakey and tender (ok that could be the crust as well) but the entire tart was just perfect, no over-baking while the center is still raw, no soggy crust after leaving the rhubarb and pear tarte in there overnight. Ok this is probably not recommended, since the moisture could cause your pan to rust, but as I said, there was no moisture problem in this case 🙂

2013-10-11 11.52.57

To make the same crust but for a savory dish, omit the sugar, and vanilla sugar. In this cheddar onion tarte, I used exactly the same crust, just leave all the sweet things out. But back to our desert. It’s pear season and I also wanted to use up some rhubarb from my garden, before the frost comes.

2013-09-23 22.42.33

Ingredients

For the crust:

  •  1 3/4 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup lard from the fridge (nice and cold)
  • 4-5 tbsp ice cold water
  • 1 tbsp coconut sugar, granulated (or raw sugar)
  • 2 tsp vanilla sugar
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 pinch salt

For the Pear Rhubarb Tarte:

  • 2 medium pears, cored and sliced
  • 4 medium stalks rhubarb
  • 2 tbsp ground almonds (almond meal)
  • sliced almonds (to top the tarte, optional)
  • 1 tbsp raw sugar for sprinkling

2013-09-23 21.57.12

Directions:

  1. Combine flour and other dry ingredients in a large bowl, add lard, and using a pastry cutter or 2 knives work lard into flour mixture until crumbs form. Add cold water one tablespoon at a time, mix after each addition, until you have a soft but cohesive pie crust. Refrigerate until needed.
  2. Preheat oven to 400°F before slicing pears.
  3. Slice pears and peel and slice rhubarb.
  4. Roll out crust on a floured surface, then transfer to greased pie plate.
  5. Sprinkle bottom of crust with ground almonds. Spread rhubarb over bottom of crust, then arrange pear slices in concentric circles over the rhubarb(or any which way makes you happy). Sprinkle with raw sugar and sliced almonds.
  6. Bake at 400°F for 30 to 35 min.

2013-09-24 07.13.42

Copyright © 2013 Simple Healthy Homemade. All rights reserved.

This entry was posted in baked goodness, frugal, how to, quick & easy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lard Pie Crust (tarte au poire – Pear Rhubarb Tarte)

  1. Pingback: Easy Kale Cheddar Pie | simplehealthyhomemade

  2. Hmm it looks like your site ate my first comment (it
    was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it
    up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything.

    Do you have any points for novice blog writers? I’d
    really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

