Odds and Ends Bean & Lentil ‘Slow Cooker Friday’ soup

Bean and lentil soup

This is so easy and yummy, I just had to write it up, although it barely deserves to be called a recipe. It’s really a classic example of the ‘afterthought’ or ‘remnant’ soup category. I used what looked at me when I opened the fridge door and pantry. πŸ˜‰

I have been incredibly busy lately. Part of that is that I finally followed my heart and quit a desk job that no longer defined me. I am now working as a freelance designer in the hand knitting industry and while it is a lot of work and often long hours, I totally LOVE what I do. If you are into knitting, you can check out some of my self published stuff over here in my Ravelry shop ‘OwlCat Designs‘.

So since I have been busy as can be, the kitchen has sometimes had to take a second chair to the other things going on in my life, and I have become really enamoured with my slow cooker. Throw it in, and forget about it πŸ™‚

This one is just that, an afterthought dinner and yes, I cheated a bit here. I found these dried soup vegetables labeled ‘soup greens’ Β at the local Amish bulk store, and they are adding a dash of flavor to soups and stews with minimal effort.

bean and lentil soup ingredients

 

All the things I used (well, minus the water)

However, you could easily substitute a bit of chopped onion, half a tomato, some additional carrot and celery and get the same result.

Bean and lentil soupIt is kind of hard to photograph these soups, they tend to look a bit brownish uniform in pictures, but make no mistake, the flavor and the lovely smell in your house when you come home after a long day will teach you to not judge a book by its cover ( although I do, yes, I sometimes buy books that have pretty pictures on them, so there I said it)

Ingredients

  • two handfuls of beans= about 1 cup (I used peeled fava beans)
  • Β 1/2 cup of lentils
  • 1/4 cup dried vegetables (or about 1 cup fresh, see substitution above)
  • 2 carrots, diced
  • 3-4 stalks of celery, chopped
  • 1 Rapunzel vegan bouillon cube (I use the no salt added version, if yours has salt, skip adding more)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 4-6 cups water

Directions

  1. Toss everything into a slow cooker, turn to low for 6-8 hours or high for about 4. (Fill the water up so it covers everything nicely by at least 3 fingers width.)
  2. Yep, that easy. πŸ™‚

bean lentilCopyright Β© 2013 Simple Healthy Homemade. All rights reserved

 

This entry was posted in Bootcamp approved, corn free, dinners & main meal, frugal, gluten free, vegan and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

