Easy Kale Cheddar Pie

kale cheddar pie

Ok so I have a juicer and I do use it, mostly. But what bugs me about it as the waste. I mean I have a pretty darn good juicer but no matter how you put it, the stuff coming out the other end is, well, wasted. So I do like to come up with things to do with that, uh, refuse. Yesterday I made some kale, carrot and apple juice. I juiced 1 bunch of kale, 2 carrots and 1 tomato (because it sat there and looked at me lonely) then I removed the pulp from the container, put the pulp container back in place and juiced the apple. The apple was in there just for palatability of the juice, honest, if you can drink straight up kale juice, I am tipping my hat to you, but you must be partly bionic.

So using the pulp from the juicer makes me feel less wasteful when using the juicer, AND it has tons of fiber, so it’s totally win-win!

But enough talking, let’s get to the dinner recipe, shall we?

Kale Cheddar Pie slice

Ingredients

  • 2 cups kale and carrot pulp (juicer pulp)*
  • 3 eggs
  • 8 oz cheddar, grated coarsely
  • 1/2 sweet onion, chopped
  • about 1/4 cup milk
  • Pie crust of choice (you could make this awesome one here, but store-bought will do)

* if you don’t own a juicer, you can also finely, finely chop the kale, and grate 1 carrot

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375°F
  2. Get your pie plates ready: In my case I used one 9″ pie plate and then a cute 6″ one that I have, sort of a personal size. Grease the inside lightly. Set aside somewhere cool until ready to fill.
  3. Dice onion and saute in a skillet over medium heat until softened but not brown, turn up the heat and stirring, caramelize just a little bit.  Set aside to cool off.
  4. Mix the pulp, eggs, and milk in a bowl, then add the grated cheddar and stir until all is nicely mixed. Lastly stir in the cooled onions (they don’t have to be cold, you just don’t want to cook the eggs)
  5.  On a lightly floured surface, roll out the dough and fit into the pie plates. Cut cute shapes out of the leftover dough pieces using cookie cutters. (Animal cracker shapes are neat!)
  6. Fill with the kale cheddar mixture, decorate with the cute shapes, and bake for 30-40 minutes or until the center is set and no longer liquid and the crust is browned.
  7. Enjoy warm or at room temp!

Kale Cheddar Pie Slice

Copyright © 2014 Simple Healthy Homemade. All rights reserved

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

