Pax Flammkuchen

Flammkuchen

What to do when it won’t stop snowing? I mean besides shoveling, which I have done plenty of, in the past few weeks. If you have kids you can build a snow giant. Me by myself, i would probably get more than the occasional raised eyebrow from the neighbors for doing that by myself, not like necessarily stops me. But you know, I gotta live there and they already think I am odd, not having a TV and all 😉

Well, I think I am not the only one that bakes more (between you and me, I am firmly convinced some of my neighbors only bake, or cook for that matter) during these prolonged snow events. Today I made awesome shortbread cookies, yogurt and then Flammkuchen for dinner! What the heck is that, you ask? Flammkuchen is a Alsatian specialty that is sort of a flame cooked version of an extra thin and crispy pizza.

Simone's Pax Flammkuchen

But let me start at the beginning here. I was planning some meals for when I would have time to indulge due to Nor’easter-in-the-house-locked-ness, and I came across one of my cookbooks from Switzerland, glanced over (Okay, I really thought I READ, this will become important later) a couple of things to try, took some general grocery notes and picked up the things needed at the store the next time I was there. Well, upon closer inspection, I realized that I either read wrong or the book changed since I had opened it last. (Guess which one?) So I ended up with stuff the recipes did not call for and without things that would have been integral to trying those recipes. So in the end, the only thing I really got from the book was the idea to make Flammkuchen. With whatever I had on hand. And it turned out fabulous so  am sharing it with you all!

And Pax just so happened to be the name of the storm, thought it was fitting 🙂

(Serves 2-3 as main meal, 8 as an appetizer)

Ingredients

  • 1/2 to 3/4 lb Pizza dough (enough to fit a large baking sheet when rolled out thinly)
  • 4 oz Vermont Cheddar or Monterey Jack cheese, grated on the coarse side of a grater
  • 1 medium zucchini
  • 1 smallish celeriac (celery root)
  • 2 medium potatoes
  • 3-4 oz Speck, have the butcher cut you one 1/4″ thick slice (a German smoked, cured pork belly/bacon, has much more meat than white)

Flammkuchen  Flammkuchen  Flammkuchen

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F
  2. Clean and peel the celeriac
  3. Using a mandolin slicer, slice the zucchini, potato and celeriac into thin slices
  4. Prepare the baking sheet by lining it with parchment paper. Roll out the Pizza dough thinly to fit the baking sheet. Place on backing sheet
  5. Spread 1/2 of the cheese over the surface, then layer the vegetables and Speck over the dough, overlapping rows like shingles on a roof. Start with zucchini, then celeriac, and potato followed by some Speck, repeat all the way across.
  6. Top with the rest of the cheese and a drizzle of olive oil
  7. Bake 30 minutes or until the cheese is melted and browned in places.
  8. Serve with a side salad and a nice glass of white wine.

Simone's Pax Flammkuchen

Copyright © 2014 Simple Healthy Homemade. All rights reserved

This entry was posted in baked goodness, dinners & main meal, frugal, Sides and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

